The B.Sc. is a 3-year degree (sometimes extended to 4 years) that provides a comprehensive introduction to classical and quantum physics. During the degree, students acquire the skills needed to undertake careers outside academia, or to continue to advanced degrees in physics.

For more details visit here.

Program Structure

All degree tracks require a combination of physics and other courses, and differ primarily in the balance between these components. The mandatory physics component in all tracks is roughly the same, and tracks differ mainly in the number of elective courses students must take:
  • First year. Lays out the foundations and consists mostly of mandatory courses: Mechanics, Electrodynamics, and applied mathematics courses. Strong students may take additional elective courses in this year, but many prefer to focus on the required ones.
  • Second year. Ventures beyond basic physics. First introduction to Waves, Optics, and Quantum Mechanics. Typically students take a combination of mandatory and elective courses on advanced topics.
  • Third year. Usually devoted to electives on advanced topics and completion of other requirements. 

Program Variants

Several options exist for studying physics as part of a B.Sc.
  • Standard track and Extended track in physics. These degrees are for students whose main focus of study is physics. The extended option differs from the standard one by requiring that a higher percentage of course credits come from physics courses. In the standard option students must take a minor sequence ("Hativa") from another department.
  • Joint degree with another department. This option is for students who wish to combine a degree in physics with a degree from another department. Many departments offer such an option, among them mathematics, computer science, cognitive science, and environmental studies.
  • Physics as a minor sequence ("Hativa BePhysika"). Students studying for a degree in another department may take this shorter course sequence, which gives a comprehensive introduction to university-level physics. Note that this option does not lead to a degree in physics, and does not provide a path to a graduate degree in physics. We advice to start the minor in the second year of studies. 
Further details regarding the different programs can be found here.

Admission and Further details

Admissions to B.Sc are based on a combination of high-school matriculation grades (Bagrut) and the psychometric exam grade. Exceptional cases may be admitted by other criteria. It is recommended, but not required, to have completed five units of mathematics in high-school. See below on options for those transferring from other institutions.
  • Details of our admissions policy are available here.
  • Details on the registration process are available here.
  • More details and courses and program are available here
  • Details abour Scholaraships can be found here.